First Announcement

IAU Symposium 337 – 50 Years of Pulsars

Jodrell Bank Observatory, United Kingdom — 4-8 September 2017

We are pleased to release this first official announcement of IAU Symposium 337 — 50 Years of Pulsars to be held at the Jodrell Bank Observatory in Cheshire in the United Kingdom on the 4th-8th September 2017.  Please reserve a slot in your diary, registration will be opening in November.
2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the discovery of pulsars and is thus an excellent moment to reflect on what we have learnt from these remarkable physical laboratories and to cast our eyes forward to the exciting opportunities they provide for physical and astrophysical studies in the coming decades. The look back is important as there have been so many significant milestones that we can continue to learn from while the look forward to the future is essential as the continuous improvement of current facilities and building of superb new facilities like FAST, SKA, CTA, advanced gravitational wave detectors, eLISA, E-Rosita, Astrosat, Astro-H, HMXT, Spektr-RG and NICER, to name just a few promise decades of exciting (astro-)physics to follow.

The topics to be covered will include:

  • Current and Next Generation Pulsar Surveys
  • Gravity tests with pulsars
  • Gravitational Wave science with pulsar timing arrays
  • Neutron Star Masses, Glitches and Equations of State
  • The Neutron Star Zoo
  • The multi-messenger view of Pulsars
  • Pulsar emission physics across the electromagnetic spectrum
  • Neutron Star Binaries
  • Constraining the magneto-ionic properties of the ISM and local IGM using pulsars
  • The future of pulsar research and facilities

and we already have an exciting group of confirmed invited speakers:

  • Matthew Bailes
  • Jocelyn Bell-Burnell
  • Dipankar Bhattacharya
  • Francesca D’Antona
  • Elizabeth Ferrara
  • Alice Harding
  • Wim Hermsen
  • Vicky Kaspi
  • Michael Kramer
  • K J Lee
  • Dick Manchester
  • Joanna Rankin
  • Roberta Zanin
  • Bryn Haskell
  • Jim Cordes
  • Roger Romani
  • Joe Taylor
We look forward to welcoming you to Jodrell Bank to celebrate this milestone which also coincides with the 60th anniversary of the Lovell telescope.
Ben Stappers and Jocelyn Bell-Burnell (for the SOC)
Rene Breton, Mike Keith, Mitch Mickaliger and Patrick Weltevrede for the LOC.