Registration Open

Registration Announcement: IAU Symposium 337 – 50 Years of Pulsars
Jodrell Bank Observatory, United Kingdom – 4-8 September 2017

We are pleased to announce that registration is now open for IAU Symposium 337 to mark 50 years of wonderful pulsar and neutron star research. This symposium will be held at the Jodrell Bank Observatory in Cheshire in the United Kingdom on the 4th-8th September 2017. Apologies if you get this announcement multiple times. Please forward this email to anyone you think might not have received this.


Because of space restrictions at the venue, the number of participants will need to be capped. Please register as early as possible to avoid disappointment. The registration will open on Monday the 27 February 2017. The deadline for registration is the Tuesday the first of July 2017, however, the registration will close earlier if the maximum number of participants is reached. Registration takes place using the following website:

Please note that the registration fee includes a drinks reception, conference dinner, lunch on every day, and depending on accommodation choice, bus transport to and from the venue, and a conference bag.

Please make use of the available fields to let us know about dietary requirements and if you will be travelling with children and are interested in options for child care.

Once you have registered you will be sent an emailing detailing payment options and abstract submission. Please note that registration will only be confirmed once the registration fee is paid.


The venue of the conference is not accessible via public transport. Shuttle busses will be provided to/from a number of pick-up points and the cost is included in the registration fee. Please refer to the website for accommodation suggestions, which allows you to make use of this service.

We highly recommend that you book your accommodation well in advance and please inform the LOC of your choice of accommodation as soon as possible so we know who needs transport. Our list of recommended hotels can be found here:

Financial support requests:

There are some funds available from the IAU and other sponsors to support some of the participants. The deadline for financial support requests is the 15th of  April 2017.  Applications for funding support can be made through the form at:

Scope of the conference:

2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the discovery of pulsars and is thus an excellent moment to reflect on what we have learnt from these remarkable physical laboratories and to cast our eyes forward to the exciting opportunities they provide for physical and astrophysical studies in the coming decades. The look back is important as there have been so many significant milestones that we can continue to learn from while the look forward to the future is essential as the continuous improvement of current facilities and building of superb new facilities like FAST, MeerKAT, SKA, CTA, advanced gravitational wave detectors, eLISA, E-Rosita, Astrosat, Astro-H, HMXT, Spektr-RG and NICER, to name just a few promise decades of exciting (astro-)physics to follow. The topics to be covered will include:

Current and Next Generation Pulsar Surveys
Gravity tests with pulsars
Gravitational Wave science with pulsar timing arrays
Neutron Star Masses, Glitches and Equations of State
The Neutron Star Zoo
The multi-messenger view of Pulsars
Pulsar emission physics across the electromagnetic spectrum
Neutron Star Binaries
Constraining the magneto-ionic properties of the ISM and local IGM using pulsars
The future of pulsar research and facilities

and we already have an exciting group of confirmed invited speakers:

Matthew Bailes
Jocelyn Bell-Burnell
Dipankar Bhattacharya
Jim Cordes
Francesca D’Antono
Elizabeth Ferrara
Alice Harding
Roger Romani
Bryn Haskell
Wim Hermsen
Vicky Kaspi
Michael Kramer
K J Lee
Dick Manchester
Joanna Rankin
Joe Taylor
Roberta Zanin

We look forward to welcoming you to Jodrell Bank to celebrate this milestone which also coincides with the 60th anniversary of the Lovell telescope.

Ben Stappers and Jocelyn Bell-Burnell (for the SOC)
Rene Breton, Mike Keith, Mitch Mickaliger, Ben Stappers and Patrick Weltevrede (for the LOC)